The support has moved to https://pira.cz/forum/

You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Problems Using RDS Spy

Skywaves wrote:

I have been running RDSV0400 RDS software for several years but recently I heard good reports about RDS Spy and wanted to give it a try. So far I have failed to get the latest RDS Spy working on any of my three computers.

I have a desktop PC and two laptops available for RDS purposes. So far, the most success I have had was with the oldest laptop (circa 2007ish, XP Home, all updates, etc.) where the software began counting groups, but failed to display anything. The other machines are a slightly newer laptop which runs XP Pro, SP3, etc. and my main desktop PC: XP Pro & SP3, but this uses a Midiman Delta 66 professional sound card with breakout box. I don't know if this sound card is really suitable.

A common problem with all three machines is a howling/shrieking sound which suggests a feedback loop.

One laptop keeps returning error messages such as "Access Violation at address 00FD7730 (or 00FD3BcB) in module "basic.dll". Read of address 00000044" with everything I try – even when closing the programme, which has to be done with the CTRL+ALT+DEL method.

For my connections, I run the RDS from a Conrad RDS Manager, taking the clock, data and ground, feeding directly into the sound card input. I have tried all configurations of clock, data and ground, with and without the ground. Nothing works.

As an alternative, I have two Sony SA3ES tuners. I could try the same with one of those, but surely I would get the same results?

Hoping somebody can help as I am keen to get RDS Spy up and running.

Thanks

John, G1VVP.

admin wrote:

Thank you for your experience. Unfortunately without posting a few seconds of recorded wav file I'm unable to make any decision. Record a few seconds of the sound (11.025 kHz, stereo, 16 bit) using any wav editor (not mp3!) and send me this sample.