The support has moved to https://pira.cz/forum/

You need to log in to create posts and topics.

RDS SPY Connection in a Car

scavta wrote:

Hello!

First of all thanks for this nice software!

I am a software developer and need to collect/analyse RDS data while driving. Could you tell, is it possible to do that with RDS SPY and if yes, how exactly?

Thanks!

scavta wrote:

Or would it be possible or easier to record logs from GNS Traffic box and later read with RDS SPY?

admin wrote:

Implementation in a car does not differ from other kind of use. You need a receiver capable of delivering the RDS data in any of the source formats supported by the RDS Spy. This usually requires the receiver to be modified as the signals required are not accessible on any standard connector. Or you may try your luck with standard audio/line output and 192 kHz sound card.

scavta wrote:

And if I take the logged .rds file from a navigation system with RDS/TMC, can RDS SPY read it?
I have one sample and it seems not to be readable for the software.

admin wrote:

Please provide us that sample. If contains all fields required, support can be added to the RDS Spy.

scavta wrote:

You can download that sample here.

admin wrote:

Thank you. Give me a few hours before implementation…

admin wrote:

Support has been added for this file format, please download actual version. Select File/Play File and GNS Log at the bottom of the Open file window.

The file structure is not fully clear to me, there are 3 bytes total preceding each RDS group, sometimes there are additional bytes, inserted probably when tuning to another station, so the RDS Spy automatically aligns to next group expecting that each group is preceded by two bytes 0x00. It seems that groups containing bad blocks are entirely removed so they do not occur in the log. Let me know in case of problems while playing your log files. We'll probably contact GNS for the file specification.

scavta wrote: